College of Idaho point-guard Talon Pinckney has been named a first-team selection to the NAIA Division II Men's Basketball All-America Team.

The Cascade Conference Defensive Player of the Year joins Elgin Baylor (1955), Jimmy Kolyzsko (1996), Tom Perkes (2004), Josh Wilson (2015) and Aziz Leeks (2018) as the only C of I players to earn first-team honors. Pinckney, a junior and Baylor, then a freshman, are the only Coyote non-seniors to earn the award.

The Boise native was instrumental in the Yotes in winning their second-straight CCC Tournament title and advancing to the NAIA Division II national semifinals. Pinckney averaged a career-best 12 points per game, while adding nearly five assists and three rebounds a night. He led the team and the CCC with 90 steals - just the third C of I player to record 90 or more steals in a season - while leading the team by converting 81-percent of his free throws.

Pinckney will start his senior season with 1,047 career points (No. 21 all-time), 429 assists (No. 4) and 190 steals (No. 6).



More From Power 105.5