colorado champs
For the second straight season it turns out the Idaho Steelheads lost in the first round  to the eventual Kelly Cup Champions. Last year it was the Allen Americans and this season the Colorado Eagles.

The Eagles captured their first Kelly Cup championship on Monday with a 2-1 win over the South Carolina Stingrays in Game 4 of the 2017 Kelly Cup Finals at the North Charleston Coliseum.

It is the first sweep in the Kelly Cup Finals since Greenville defeated Dayton in four games in 2002. Colorado won its final eight games of the postseason, tying the fourth-longest playoff winning streak in ECHL history while the Eagles’ six overtime wins during the 2017 Kelly Cup Playoffs set a new league record.

Colorado’s Matt Register was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2017 Kelly Cup Playoffs, becoming the first defenseman to win the award in the ECHL’s 29-year history. Register, who was named the 2016-17 ECHL Defenseman of the Year, led all defensemen in the playoffs with eight goals and 24 points. His 24 points were second among all players in the postseason.

Shawn St-Amant led Colorado in the series with five points (1g-4a) while Matt Garbowsky scored a team-leading four goals. Lukas Hafner went 4-0 with a 1.97 goals-against average and a save percentage of .923.

Register, along with teammates Alex Belzile and Casey Pierro-Zabotel, captured their second Kelly Cup championships. Register and Pierro-Zabotel were members of Allen’s championship squad in 2016 while Belzile previously won the Kelly Cup with Alaska in 2014.

More From Power 105.5