Boise State senior Chandler Hutchison was selected as the Mountain West Preseason Player of the Year and the Broncos were picked to finish third in the conference preseason poll. The preseason predictions were voted on by 24 media members who cover the league.

Hutchison is the first Bronco to earn preseason player of the year honors since Boise State joined the Mountain West. Derrick Marks (2015) is the only player in program history to earn the Mountain West honor at the end of the season. Roberto Bergeson (1999 – Big West), Chris Childs (1989 – Big Sky) and Arnell Jones (1988 – Big Sky) also earned end of year conference player of the year honors, as well.

Nevada was picked to repeat as league champions, garnering 19 first-place votes and 257 points. San Diego State was slotted in second with two first-place votes and 229 points while Boise State was close behind in third with two first-place votes and 211 points.

Fresno State (188 points) and Colorado State (154 points) were picked to finish fourth and fifth, while UNLV (138 points and one first-place vote) and Wyoming (133 points) were close behind in sixth and seventh.

Utah State (102), New Mexico (93), San José State (41) and Air Force (38) rounded out the poll.

Predicted Order of Finish

Rk.         Team (First-Place Votes)            Pts.

  1.         Nevada (19)                                  257
  2.         San Diego State (2)                      229
  3.         Boise State (2)                             211
  4.         Fresno State                                 188
  5.         Colorado State                              154
  6.         UNLV (1)                                       138
  7.         Wyoming                                       133
  8.         Utah State                                     102
  9.         New Mexico                                     93
  10.        San José State                                41
  11.        Air Force                                           38

Preseason All-MW Team

Pos.       Player                                 Yr.          Team

G            Chandler Hutchison           Sr.          Boise State

G/F         Jordan Caroline                  Jr.          Nevada

G            Trey Kell                             Sr.          San Diego State

G            Koby McEwen                    So.         Utah State

G            Justin James                       Jr.           Wyoming

Preseason Player of the Year

Chandler Hutchison, Sr., G, Boise State

Preseason Freshman of the Year

Brandon McCoy, F, UNLV

Preseason Newcomer of the Year

Caleb Martin, Jr., F, Nevada

More From Power 105.5